Bug Report: Close to Tray and closing via ‘X’

It was reported to me yesterday, in conjunction with a new development not yet publicly available, that if you use the ‘X’ window icon to close the application window, and you have the option ‘Close to Tray’ set then when you try to restore the application, it appears blank.

After some testing of my own, I can confirm that this exists in ALL previous versions of the application, not just the development version.

The issue has now been fixed, and an update will be issued in the next day or so, subject to Beta testing.

In the meantime, you don’t need to click on the ‘X’ icon to close to tray.  Simply use the ‘minimize’ icon and you’ll get the same effect.

Sometimes, you just have one of those days!

And it seems that yesterday, was my turn to have one!  So after testing v0.2.7 on my virtual machines, and deeming them fit for release, the first few people to try it out found it falling flat on its face.  It took a longer than I would normally like to locate the issue, but it was eventually narrowed down and resolved.

This would be fine except this morning I’ve spotted, and had it confirmed to me, that the new notifications feature is being a little …. ‘enthusiastic’.

That’s because the code responsible for playing the notification started life as the media player for a car, and by default has it’s ‘repeat’ mode enabled for when a ‘track’  (or playlist) has finished playing.  Oops.   How this hasn’t shown itself up in my 8 hours of testing I don’t know.  But it didn’t, despite getting notifications through the day.

This one has already patched, and I’ve made it available as v0.2.8 which you can grab from the downloads!

v0.2.4 Erroneous Follower Notifications

Whilst trying to solve some complicated issues that might not be solvable, I recently ran across some strange behaviour in the application – that you might run into yourself.

Scrolling up and down the ‘mentions’ column you might suddenly find that you have ‘New Followers’ and that every time you do so the number might change.  This, of course,  could be a bit of a problem!

There’s a technical reason why this is happening, and it’s the way that Twitter deals with scrolling content in and out of view.

As you are scrolling down, the TweetDeck application (not Twitter In An App) removes the mentions you can’t see completely and adds what you are scrolling down for into view.  Behind the scenes Mentions, Retweets and Favourites are all controlled by a unique identifier that increases the more recent the item.  Twitter In An App is able to track these, and knows what the last one it saw was and can therefore work out which are new ones.

Follows, however, don’t work this way.

Follows just have the identity that followed you and appear where they are supposed to by ‘magic’.  There’s nothing identifiable about them to help Twitter In An App distinguish what’s new and old, despite its attempts to try!

I’m going to have to have a think about this, and how to deal with it … but a fix for this might not be as forthcoming as previous fixes!